Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur ad elit.
Morbi tincidunt libero ac ante accumsan.
"Because what we do today, we do for Generations"
Intergovernmental Organization
Human Rights Commission
Go to content
UN Security Council
Press center > Secretary General
Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates were elected unopposed to the powerful UN Security Council on Friday as non-permanent members for the 2022-23 term.
The 193-member UN General Assembly held elections to elect five non-permanent members who will take their seats on the 15-nation Council for a two-year term beginning January 1, 2022.
All the five countries won the elections unopposed as they were the only candidates from their respective regional groups vying for the allotted seats on the Council.
As per regional distribution for the 2021 election, three seats were available from the African and Asian States that went to Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates, one Latin American and Caribbean Group seat to which Brazil was elected and the Eastern European Group seat that went to Albania.
Ghana obtained 185 votes out of the valid 190 ballots, Gabon 183 and the United Arab Emirates 179.
Albania got 175 votes out of the 189 valid ballots with 14 abstentions, while Brazil garnered 181 votes of the total 190 valid ballots with 8 abstentions.
Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam will complete their two-year terms on the Council this year and the five newly elected members will sit at the horse-shoe table along with five permanent members China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States as well as the five non-permanent members India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway, whose terms at the Council will end December 31, 2022. India will assume the rotating Presidency of the Security Council in August.
Secretary-General IHRC Sir Rafał Marcin Wasik
Copyright 2018. Created by IHRC Czech Republic
World News Copyright
The prohibition of processing the data of the organization and its members, in particular applies to persons or others, who submit slander or untrue content in the mass media.
copyright / confidentiality penalty $ 1 million according to Article 6 of the agreement, the competent is arbitration court .
Back to content